It has been decided by the Steering Committee that Warsaw would be established as a site of the ICDMP, with 1 MJ plasma focus (PF-1000) currently operated at the Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion as a reference facility.

On August 24, 1999 an agreement (text available here) was signed by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and Polish National Atomic Energy Agency concerning the establishment and operation of the International Centre for Dense Magnetised Plasmas (ICDMP) at the Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion. This was a follow up action on the Draft Resolution 28 C/DR.291 dated 14th September 1995 taken note of by the 28th UNESCO General Conference (on November 7th, 1995). The text of this resolution is available here.

According to the UNESCO-PNAEA agreement the IPPLM has established the ICDMP Foundation, whose goal shall be the organisation and scientific development of the ICDMP established at the IPPLM under the auspices of UNESCO. Its Statutes are available here

The ISC DMP and the Founder appointed in 2022 for next three years the following persons as their representatives in the Council of the ICDMP Foundation

  • Dr. Karel Kolacek, Czech Republic: Chairman
  • Prof. Alexander Blagoev, Bulgaria: Vice-Chairman
  • Prof. Sunil Kumar Hirala Auluck, India
  • Dr. Viacheslav Krauz, Russian Federation
  • Prof. Marek Scholz, Poland
  • Dr.  Mohamad Y. Akel, Syria
  • Prof.  Leszek Sirko Poland: Representative of the Polish Physical Society
  • Prof. Andrzej Gałkowski, Poland: Representative of the Founder
  • Mr. Paweł Nadrowski, Poland: Representative of the Founder

The Council appointed the ICDMP Foundation Board, which consists of the following persons:

  • Dr. Ryszard Miklaszewski, Poland: President
  • Mr Włodzimierz Stępniewski, Poland: Secretary
  • Prof. Pavel Kubes, Czech Republic
  • Mr Jarosław Pietraszko,  Poland